The idiocy of banning the n-word in sports

I wrote a column for Baller Mind Frame about recent developments concerning the sports world and the use of the n-word. My position is clear by the title of the column but not for the reasons some might expect. Here is an excerpt from the post.

Nugent later apologized for his words, in particular the use of “subhuman mongrel,” but not to the President: “I do apologize – not necessarily to the President – but on behalf of much better men than myself… I will try to elevate my vernacular to the level of those great men that I’m learning from in the world of politics.”

Official_portrait_of_Barack_Obama

Improving one’s vernacular does not make them any less of an ass or change the intended message. Words themselves are important, but meaning without context is misguided. The factors are all subjective regardless of how passionate a speaker is or how carefully words are chosen. Language is a gift and a curse – infinitely malleable, governed by the orator and open to judgement by all.

For more, check out “The Idoicy of Banning the N-Word in Sports” at Baller Mind Frame.

Thanks for reading.

