Artist Spotlight: Sincere DaMisFit, Part II

In Part 2 of the artist spotlight, Sincere DaMisfit continues to tell his story: 

7th grade began and the bullying wasn’t as bad but it was just as annoying. They would do things like tripping me in the hall, call me “weird” and say I was “strange” and “contagious.” My imagination had a part to play in their belief. One day, they hid my clothes after P.E. class and I snapped. People were snickering and laughing. They knew who took them and soon I did too. I approached THE BOY who was shorter than me (and I was short…). I demanded my clothes. At first he played dumb. He said I would never see my clothes again. When I assured him that he wouldn’t leave the locker room until I got my clothes back, he pushed me. I picked him up and threw him into the locker and everyone started cheering. Next thing I knew, my pants and shirt flew on my head. That was the HAPPIEST moment of my life to that point.

Soon after that, people began to accept me. However, no one knew I wanted to rap and I tried to keep it a secret because I thought people wouldn’t like it. On Friday’s we use to have ‘Freestyle Friday’ at the lunch table. Somebody told me to freestyle…thinking i couldn’t…They tried to ridicule me but it backfired on them. I was doper than they expected. For the rest of my middle school days I was untouchable…well thats how I felt at least.

The end of middle school was a trying time for me…I wanted to go to Ridgeway High but I didn’t want to be around people who remembered beating me up and treating me like crap so with the help of Lionel Cable, my band teacher and mentor, I ended up attending Overton High School, a Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA) school. No one knew me and I knew no one. I had to start all over. I got a girlfriend who was my high school sweet heart. People that remember me in high school still ask me, “Do you still go with that girl?” Lol.

My 9th grade years were spent in algebra class eating hot chips and drinking kool-aid jammers freestyling with crips and bloods. Yes, crips and bloods were getting along…also with Mexican gang members (BMP)…11th grade I lost my girlfriend to the betrayal of a close friend. He lied and said I dumped her for a white girl and she believed him. She had everyone calling me a dog and I felt that same worthlessness I felt when I was in middle school. So to make myself feel better, I started sleeping with a lot of girls. Mainly girls I didn’t think she was kool with. And if she saw me in the hallway hugging other girls she would claim me and her had plans on getting back together. Later, she threatened to kill herself if we didn’t get back together and was sent to a mental institution. When she got out, she blamed me for it and so did everyone else. I felt very lonely during those times. Not long after that my grandmother was diagnosed with alzheimer’s and she began staying with us after my grandfather’s passing . I gave up my room and slept on the floor in the den. My grandmother’s disease and grandfather’s passing shook our family because we use to spend countless Sundays and holidays at their house. We were lost…

Back at school, I soon became cool with just two people. James Boxiley III (AKA Trey) and Terrelle Smith (AKA Hammer who also went to Ridgeway middle but I was close to him at the time). Throughout high school I was freestyling, battling, writing lyrics in class and mostly in the band room. We graduated together and I was later accepted in the University of Memphis where I attend now.

Come back next Friday, August 24, to see what Sincere has to say about college life and the day he started taking his music seriously. And before you leave, make sure you watch the “Look At Me Now” remix by Sincere featuring Young Yayo:

