Artist Spotlight: Sincere DaMisfit

In the spring of 2011, I came across a mixtape called M.I.S.F.I.T.S. from a hip hop artist out of Memphis, TN. The first track of M.I.S.F.I.T.S. is called, “Welcome to Memphis,” and uses the beat from the intro of Nas’ untitled album, “Queens Get The Money.” I remember thinking to myself, “This dude got some serious balls using Nas’ stuff for the first song of his first mixtape,” but I was pleasantly surprised. The flow, articulation, swagger, and content – all legit. Then, get this, the next song samples Black Sabbath’s, “Iron Man.” Two songs into M.I.S.F.I.T.S., I was hooked and decided I would continue to follow this artist’s music in the future. 

Last week, I contacted him online and mentioned that I featured his newest single, “I Want More,” on my blog. I requested that he write a byline about himself to go along with the shared song. The man went far beyond the scope of a byline with enough material to give fans an engaging, intimate look into the origins of his music. I will publish his “byline” on this blog in four parts beginning with the first entry about his childhood, and the last entry which will discuss personal approaches and inspirations to music.   

It is my honor and privilege to introduce Sincere DaMisfit to you, in his own words.

I go by Sincere (DaMisfit or DaWeapon). I don’t want to give out my real name at this time. I grew up in Memphis, Tennessee in a neighborhood called Hickory Hill, located on the south-eastern side of Memphis. Hickory Hill, amongst other places in Memphis, are the fuel that push my music forward. I have been interested in hip hop since the time I was able to talk. I used to try to rap when I was little. When I was in elementary school, I always felt like an outcast because I had asthma and couldn’t play like the other kids. There was this particular group of people who I felt close to that were rapping when I was in the 4th grade. Even though I showed interest in joining, they wouldn’t let me in their rap group.

As I got in middle school, the Memphis City Schools’ board officially voted that all schools must abide by the uniform policy. I didn’t have any school uniforms. Luckily, my mom and dad had enough to buy me school uniforms and the shoes that everyone was getting at the time; Air Force 1’s. High tops. Icy whites. With my tight uniform shirt and pants and size 8 Forces on, I walked into Ridgeway Middle school with a love for Kung Fu movies and a wild child-like imagination unknowing of the pre-teen attitude that was coming my way.

There was a girl in the sixth grade who I had a crush on. A big crush! I was scared to approach her so my friend Desmond Robertson, who I also used to call my cousin, offered to introduce us to each other. Desmond was in the 8th grade and I had known him for most of my life so I trusted him to handle this precious situation. He chose to introduce us during lunch in the back of the cafeteria where the cool kids sat. The uncool kids sat everywhere else. She was in the back surrounded by all the light skinned guys, football and basketball players, cheerleaders, the cutest girls, and of course the type of kids that make F’s and are constantly getting sent to the office. To make a long story short, she turned me down HARSHLY in front of everyone. Soon after that came the bullies. One time they cornered me in the restroom and stole my AIR FORCE ONES and banged the metal trash can on my head. I didn’t even know who they were. I was so scared to tell anyone including my dad because he had a very short fuse. But I always wish I did. It isn’t until now that I realized how much he loves his children…He would have put a stop to it.

Anyway, the rapping…during the summer, before 7th grade, my mom would take me and my brother to WhiteHaven (a Memphis neighborhood) to visit our cousin, Kevin. Kevin is 3 years older than me. He used to use his computer to download hip hop instrumentals and rap to them (mostly freestyling). Him and my brother would go back and forward all day long, then they used me for practice … I didn’t know how to freestyle at the time. I was getting sick of going over there everytime just for them to ridicule me. One day, I picked up a dictionary and read it front to back. It took me about a month. The next time we went over there I slaughtered both of them and It stopped.

Check for the next entry on Friday, August 17. In the meantime, please introduce yourself to his music by checking out the shared link to his music below:

